The plan that works for me…

Ok, a few of you have asked, “what plan are you using?”  Well, to tell you the truth it is a combination of a few things.  Don’t get freaked out, but let me explain completely.  Read to the end of this post and then ask questions if it doesn’t make sense.  I am not completely sure of the science behind it all, all i know is that this works for me.

The first thing I did was cut out carbohydrates except for those in vegetables.  The main point of the plan that i am on is to rest my pancreas.  I was a carb addict and therefore, my pancreas was working all the time.  I try to stay under 50 carbs for the day.  Secondly, i cut out dairy products except for aged cheese, and i eat that in moderation.  I know, most of you are thinking already, “yeah right I could never do that!”  Trust me, I said the same thing before I started.  Third, not all vegetables are created equally.  Some vegetables, mostly the ones that everyone likes are not good for you if you are trying to rest your pancreas in order to lose weight and regulate your sugar.

Cutting carbs is hard to do for anyone, the only way I was able to cut these is cold turkey.  A lot of people like to just cut back or reduce the amount of carbs they are eating.  This usually doesn’t work because of the way wheat and gluten work in your body.  Once you cut the carbs, you will experience a few things.  First you will have a headache and be a little irritated.  Also, day three will be your worst day.  Most likely you will feel like you have the flu and want to die.  It’s ok, just hang in there.  After about day 5, if you don’t cheat at all, you will wake up one day and the headache will be gone and you will no longer have the cravings like before.  Again, not sure how that works, but it just does.  Once the cravings are gone, it is very easy to stay on track with the food plan.

So here is the deal.

7:30-8:00am – Breakfast: Protein Shake – Usually I use either Atkin’s Pre-made shakes (vanilla and dark chocolate are my favorites) or Herbalife Shakes (I have a lot of stock from being a distributor previously.

11:30-12:30 – Lunch – 1/2 lb of lean protein – This is either sirloin steak, turkey of some sort, chicken, fish, certain cuts of pork, 93% lean ground beef, etc…Along with the lean protein 2 cups of vegetables.  I will provide the list of veggies later.

1:30-2:30 – Afternoon snack – 1 Protien bar – I use Atkin’s Advantage Caramel Chocolate Nut Roll (tastes like a payday candy bar, AMAZING!), or the Daybreak Cranberry Almond Bar.  The Advantage come in the blue boxes and the Daybreak come in the orange boxes.  These are found in the pharmacy section of most stores like Meijer or Wal-mart.

5:00-7:00 – Supper – Just like lunch, 1/2 lb of lean protein and 2 cups of veggies.

After supper I don’t eat anything.  I especially don’t eat anything after 8pm.

This step is very important! – I log everything that i put in my mouth.  I use myfitnesspal app which is available for both IOS and Android platforms.  A lot of times i will enter the food before I eat it so that i can see what is in it and how it is going to affect my daily totals.  Eating like the above schedule I am getting right around 1000 calories per day, but i never feel hungry.  If i am hungry, i eat either lunch, snack or supper, or I drink a glass or bottle of water.  Also myfitnesspal is great because it tracks your protein, fat, and carbs that you have eaten per day and week in a pie graph.  I like to have 50% protein, 20-30% fat, and 20-30% carbs.  If my pie graph is split that way, I can pretty much guarantee that i will lose weight that day.  I don’t know how it works, it just does.  This is why I had to cut the carbs and dairy.  Cut carbs to get to 20-30% and cut dairy to get to 20-30% fat.

For those of you who read my post “Hunger Pains” I was using the same eating schedule, only i was using a protein shake with the veggies for lunch thus reducing the calories per day to 500-700.  I could not handle that few of calories so I increased it two 1/2 lb of lean protein which raised my calories and fixed the hunger.  You may want to start out doing that and then switch to my current plan if it doesn’t work for you.  Or, if you don’t get results on this plan, switch to the fewer calorie plan to give yourself a boost.

Here is the list of approved foods: This comes from a program called “Ideal Protein”.  Do not deviate from this plan for ultimate results.

No frying or breading permitted. (Sauteeing is allowed.  No Deep fry is what they mean.)
Fish: Anchovy, Bass, Catfish, Cod, Grouper, Haddock, Halibut, Hake, Mahi-Mahi, Monk Fish, Pike, Perch, Red
Snapper, Redfish, Sea Bass, Shark, Smelt, Sole, Sword Fish, Tilapia, Tuna (Red Tuna-1 x per week) Trout, Turbot,
Whiting, Walleye, Wild Salmon (1 x per week) Seafood: Crab, Crawfish, Clams, Lobster, Mussels, Oysters, Shrimp,
Scampi, Scallops (4 large), Squid
Beef: Flank Steak, (extra-lean) Ground Beef, Rump Steak, Roast, Sirloin, Round, Tournedos, Tenderloin
Veal: Breast, Cutlet, Inside Round Steak, Rib, Shank, Shoulder, Tenderloin
Poultry: (skinless) Chicken, Fowl, Quails, Turkey, (2) Whole Eggs, Wild Birds
Pork: Fat-Free Cooked Ham, Pork Tenderloin
Other: Bison, Deer, Elk, Frog’s Legs, Kidney, Liver, Ostrich, Rabbit, Tofu (plain)
Vegetables
Algae, Alfalfa, Asparagus, Arugula, Bell Peppers, Broccoli, Bean Sprouts, Cauliflower, Cabbage (red, pak choi,
bok choy), Celery, Celeriac, Chicory, Collards, Cress, Cucumbers, Dill Pickles, Endive, Fennel, Field Salad, Green
Onions, Kale, Kohlrabi, Leeks, Mushrooms, Okra, Onions (raw only), Hot Peppers, Radicchio, Radish, Rhubarb,
Rutabaga, Sauerkraut, Sorrel, Spinach, Swiss Chard, Turnip, Watercress, Zucchini
Occasional (You may choose two items only per week from this list): Brussels sprouts, Beans (Green & Wax),
Eggplant, Palm Hearts, Snow Peas, Swede, Tomato
Not permitted: Artichoke, Avocado, Beets, Carrots, Chick Peas, Corn, Olives, Parsnips, Peas, (all) Potatoes,
Pumpkin, Sweet Corn, Squash, Yams
Seasonings
Apple Cider Vinegar, Fine Herbs, Garlic, Ginger, Lemon, Lemon Grass, Hot Mustard, Hot Sauce, Soya Sauce, Spices
(MSG Free/No Carbs), Tamari Sauce, White Vinegar- NO BALSAMIC or REDWINE VINEGAR!!

 

I follow this plan daily to take….One more step from big to small!

Leave a Reply

